top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalijn van Hemert

Special visit

Monday was my last basketball practice of this year. I can look back at my basketball time with a big smile on my face. I loved every minute of it and I am gratefull for all the new friends I made.

Tuesday I went to a signing of one of my friends. She is joining a dance team next year in College and the College makes her sign a contract declairing she will make a good effort for the team. Tuesday we also were supposed to have our last basketball game but due to the weather it got cancelled.


Wednesday the weather was bad still we had yet another snowday. In the evening we had student-teacher conferences and after that we went into Topeka to go to the gym and we also ate at 'Red Robins'.

Thursday I went to Carolines FFA breakfast. The rest of the day was spent cleaning and preparing for my parents who came to visit me on Friday.


We picked up my parents on Friday at the airport. We drank some coffee to catch up before our long drive back. After that we went to Royal Valley to show my parent the high school. In the evening we went to eat at one of my favorite restaurants 'Huhot'.

On Saturday we visited the capital. We climbed all the way to the top to look out over Topeka. The climb itself was pretty scary, but also very fun. Later that night my hostmom had prepared a very delicious meal for us and we all catched up afterwards.

On Sunday my parents and I went to eat at a breakfast place called 'Hanover'. After that we visited my old host parents to say hi. My parents had to leave pretty soon after that because they still had to drive for a long time.


It was really nice seeing my parents again and for them to meet my host parents. I am looking forward to hearing about their experiences in the USA.

66 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page