top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalijn van Hemert

California and Goodbyes

Last week I went to California with my host family. We arrived in San Francisco on Tuesday. The first day we walked around the pier where we looked at the sea lions that laid on the docks. We also ate dinner at Boudin Bakery. The place is famous for it's sourdough bread and the bread floats around in the store.

The next day we drove around and we saw the crinkliest road of San Francisco. We also drove a cable car to China town. After that we went to see the 'Golden Gate Bridge'. I loved it. Seeing the Golden Gate Bridge has been on my bucket list since forever.

Later that night we went to Alcatraz prison. It was super cool to see the cells and to hear about the escape attemps. The information man asked us where we were from and when I said Utrecht he knew a lot of cool places that are there. It was a really funny conversation.

The next day we drove to Yosemite National Park. We stayed there for a day and a half. The park was beautiful. Almost undescrible. There were a lot of mountains and valleys and on the second day we took a hike to see mirror lake.

On Friday we drove to Los Angeles. On Saturday we went to Universal Studios. They just build a new Harry potter section in the park which was really cool. We went on a studios tour and we also saw a lot of shows. The park was really busy so we decided to leave earlier and we went to eat dinner at a mexican place. After that we went to Milk bar to have dessert. Milk bar is famous for its crazy creations such as 'crack pie' and 'compost cookie ice-cream'.

The next day we went to a farmers market. We bought some cherries and cheese to enjoy later. We also bought delicious pastries and some coffee for breakfast. After that we drove over the famous rodeo drive and visited the LACMA museum. We had dessert again, but this time at 'Coolhaus'. This is a place where you can create your own ice cream sandwich.

Monday was our last day. We started the day off with visiting the Hollywood sign.

After that we had breakfast at 'go get them tiger' cafe. The avocado toast was insanly delicious. Afterwards we walked over the hollywood walk of fame. It was cool to see all the stars. It was really nice weather that day so we went to Venice beach.

We then went home to rest for a bit before going to the Grove, which is a mall in Los Angeles. The next morning we flew back to kansas again.


The last few days I have been preparing for my flight home. Tomorrow is my last day in the States. I can't believe how fast this year has gone. I am so thankful for all the opportunities I have gotten and all the amazing people I got to meet. This year was truly the hardest and most amazing year I ever had in my life. I learned a lot and I got to do incredible things I never dreamed of doing. I am going to miss everyone here and I hope I get to come back soon to this amazing place.


60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page