top of page
  • Writer's pictureKalijn van Hemert

Last Month

I officially only have a month left here in America. This year has flown by and I can't believe all the amazing things I got to experience.

This Tuesday we went to a high school lacrosse game after school. The game was in Kansas City so we stayed their for both the JV game and part of the Varsity game. I really like looking at different kinds of sports. Lacrosse is not something you see a lot in The Netherlands so it was interesting to watch.

On Thursday we went back to the Tulip expo that was going on in Topeka. We walked around for a bit and it was cool to see it in daylight this time. I noticed a lot of details I hadn't noticed before and the atmosphere was different as well.

On Saturday it was my birthday. I'm 18 years now. It was weird to celebrate such a milestone in a different country, but my hostfamily made this day special. We went shopping at Legends in Kansas city and at night we went out to eat with my hostfamily's family at a mexican place. I got some really nice gifts and I really like spending this day with all of them. Despite being really full from dinner my hostfamily insisted on buying an 'Ice-cream birthday cake'. I had never heard of something like that, but it was delicious nonetheless.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

bottom of page